Skip to Main Content

42 New Ontario Stores Selected

42 lucky people were selected from the 4,864 eligible expressions of interest in Ontario’s second lottery for cannabis licences held on August 20.

The Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario (AGCO) has notified those 42 selected applicants that they may now apply for a cannabis Retail Operator Licence and a Retail Store Authorization. Applicants have until August 28, 2019 to do so, at which point the AGCO will undertake its full eligibility and licensing review. The AGCO will only licence applicants and authorize stores that meet all legal and regulatory requirements.

60% of the entries were from sole proprietors and 39% were from corporations.

Locations of the new stores are: Kitchener, London (2), Hamilton, Welland, Windsor, Stoney Creek, Niagara Falls, Ancaster, St. Catharines, Guelph, Innisfil (3), Nepean, Peterborough, Collingwood, Barrie, Burlington (2), Oshawa (2), Aurora, Stouffville, Toronto (12), York, Sault Ste Marie, Timmins, Kenora, Thunder Bay, and North Bay.

8 First Nations Stores were previously announced.

Photo Credit: Fungus Guy

Tags: AGCO (51), Canada Cannabis (117), cannabis retailer (75), cannabis store licences (2), Ontario Cannabis Lottery (4)